Community Engagement Workshop

This past weekend, the Trapp River North Stars held a community workshop.

This included a presentation by the AmeriCorps VISTA in the 4-H office, and a visit from one of the local police dogs.

The first part of workshop started with a Post-it note activity.  There were two categories. How? and Why?  The 4-Hers then had to write down ideas of how you do community service and why you do community service and put each note in the proper place.  This is what they came up with.

IMG_2248 IMG_2249

This gave me an idea of what they already knew, and let me tell you, they knew a lot.  I was really impress by one response in the Why? section.

“It humbles you to see other people’s situations and appreciate what you have.”

That right there tells me that she understands what community service is about.

I made a few Wordles of what they gave me.  This is how they turned out.

After that we did the Putting together the 4-H Puzzle activity.  It did take them awhile to figure out what was wrong with their puzzle. I saw a few people try to use all their pieces anyway, even though they did not fit.  I think that worked well, the only thing I would have changed would have been my lead in for it.  Since it was the first time I had run that activity, I think it went pretty well.

The last thing we did was do a human knot.  This is something that is very old, and sometimes over done.  In a setting where only a few people have done the challenge, it works great to get across the message of needing to work together.  Here are some pictures of what they looked like.

IMG_2257 IMG_2256 IMG_2255 IMG_2254 IMG_2253 IMG_2252 IMG_2251 IMG_2250 IMG_2247 IMG_2246 IMG_2244 IMG_2243 IMG_2271 IMG_2242 IMG_2269 IMG_2267 IMG_2262 IMG_2263 IMG_2260 IMG_2259

Over all, I think it was a great learning experience for the youth as well as for the presenter. I am so glad I had this opportunity, and hope to have more in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

